Home » Life » Thoughts for the Mo(u)rning After

Thoughts for the Mo(u)rning After

So, I have some thoughts.

1. My heart aches so, so much for those of you who are terrified. Those of you worried your rights will be trampled, if not forcibly taken. Those of you worried about violence. About deportation. About feeling a loss of safety in general. I’m scared for you, too, and I’m trying so hard to do what I can to figure out how I can in any way help to protect you. I know you’re feeling defenseless, and I want to help. I don’t know how yet. But I’ll do my best.

2. For those of you who are heartbroken: you don’t need my permission to cry, scream, or do whatever you need to get those feelings out. But know that I won’t judge you, even though some of what you say is hard to hear. I understand that you’re frustrated, and I know you won’t begin to heal until you let some of this out.

3. Those of you who don’t share my political beliefs: many of you are my friends, and this won’t end that. I know that those of you who voted for our new president-elect aren’t racist, misogynist, xenophobic, or homophobic. Please try not to take offense to people who are claiming your vote is proof that you are. I know this election wasn’t easy for you, and you were trying to vote your conscience. Just try to realize that these people are frightened, and maybe think about how you can try to reassure them.

4. Maybe let’s think about trying not to point fingers or hurl insults. Part of the reason this country has become so polarized is because so few of us are willing to own our own faults or flaws. And rather than look for solutions, we look for blame. Believe me, I’m as guilty of this as anyone else. I’ve thought “HOW COULD THIS HAPPEN?” more times than I care to admit. Then I think about how often I’m more concerned about myself, my own life, how I can make things better for myself, than I am willing to help out others or to sacrifice for others. And I think, yeah… I’m not really doing my part, am I?

5. Throughout history, evil has prevailed for a time, but goodness eventually wins out. Mourn, but don’t despair. Be angry, but don’t become bitter. Be frustrated, but don’t become complacent. Recognize that each one of us can make the world better if we dedicate ourselves to doing as much good as we can, with all the resources available to us, for as long as we are able.

That is all.

10 thoughts on “Thoughts for the Mo(u)rning After

      • Thanks, I will. It really does seem like a nightmare to him – he’s all concerned what if someone reports that I’m “radicalized”. Radicalized what – Browns fan? Ugh. And he’s worried about his family.

      • “Radicalized Browns fan” made me laugh, so sorry. I’m concerned about his family, too. I’m praying that enough good people are still in this country to combat the bad.

  1. Very nicely done, Nic. I have one area of slight disagreement, only slight… Your third point. I know many people who voted for him, personally or through the internet, who are racist, xenophobic, Islamo-phobic, (is that a word?) and homophobic. They have made that clear in their comments and some seem to be proud of it. Many others who are just party voters no matter what. I’m not expecting this group to be reassuring their gay or Muslim neighbors anytime soon. In fact, for the first time, the word “faggot” was written this morning on a wonderful couple’s apartment wall.

    • I’m not expecting that either, Leda. But I wasn’t talking about them — I know there are plenty of phobic folks who voted for Trump. I was referring to my own friends who voted for him. Now perhaps *some* of them are indeed phobic… but since I don’t actually know (and none of them have behaved or spoken in ways that would lead me to believe otherwise), I prefer to give them the benefit of the doubt and assume that they aren’t. I’d want others to do the same for me.

      I’m so sorry about your neighbors. That’s really awful.

Leave a Reply

