Home » Life » February Hustle, Days 26 & 27: Same Old, Same Old? and Your Turn!

February Hustle, Days 26 & 27: Same Old, Same Old? and Your Turn!

Started to get behind, but I’m not gonna this time. Not too much, anyway. Especially since Fearless Leader Jon’s e-mails these past two days are so simple.

Day 26:

If you ever met my wife Jenny, she would tell you that I’m not that adventurous.

I like to talk a big game, but at the end of the day, I tend to get locked into doing the same thing over and over again. I start out in a good place. I strike out to do something incredibly different and fun. I lean into change!

Then, about two weeks later, that change has gelled. It’s no longer different. It’s simply my new way of doing the same thing over and over again. I get stuck.

In fact, my “adventure to stuck” speed is about 2.4 weeks.

What’s yours? We all have one. We all possess the ability to turn the brand new back into the same old.

That’s part of the reason that in March I’m changing the 30 days of hustle for this group. I’ve got a different idea, so I’m going to do things differently.

The fear of course is that some people won’t like the changes you create. But that’s OK. If change was comfortable, it’d be called comfortable, not change.

So today, ask yourself these questions:

Did I start something fun and different at the beginning of the month that devolved right back into same old? Or am I still embracing change?

I’ll be honest with you (because “Honesty, not perfection” is part of my mantra): the past two days have felt very much like “same old, same old.” I haven’t felt well — got a stupid cold, ugh — and as a result, it seemed way easier to just hang out on social media and watch tennis (which I haven’t done since the Australian Open, probably because Novak Djokovic hasn’t played since then) than do actual work.

Which is a shame, because I have also both struggled with my life’s purpose (I know, heavy, right??) and come to terms with the fact that with the blessings I currently have, my life’s purpose couldn’t be more obvious or profound.

Sometimes it can be hard to be looking down the barrel of 40, especially when you have a college degree and don’t have a full-time job, and feel like you really are fulfilling your life’s purpose. At least, it has been for me. I’ve been fighting for years the feeling that I wasn’t doing what I should be doing. What “should” I be doing? Darned if I know. I was just convinced that being a homemaker and a freelance writer and a knitter-for-hire couldn’t possibly be it.

But… why not? I took a good look at my life, the way it is right now, and realized how blessed I am. I live in a great town, with a wonderful family, in a beautiful home, and I’m able to work at home and be available for my children whenever they need me. I’m able to write for two different employers, I’m able to make beautiful handknits for friends and family, and I’m able to keep our home a sanctuary for both my husband and my daughters.

My daughters are 13 and 7. They won’t be for much longer. Undoubtedly, before I know it, they’ll be grown and leaving the nest. I won’t have this time with them again. Instead of looking for a “greater purpose,” I need to look at them and realize that right here, right now, there is no greater purpose than being available for my girlios while they are young.

And because I’ve been blessed with this beautiful home, that fortunately I am able to stay at home and take care of, there’s no reason I can’t feel honored to be able to take care of it. I know that when our house is neat — not sterile, of course, but neat and reasonably clean — everyone is happier. My husband, my daughters, myself, even my dog.

So it’s probably time for me to dig back into my preceding journal entries, remember my “why,” remember my “how,” all that, and get back in touch with why I want to be purposeful and intentional rather than just sitting around all day.

And now for Day 27, and be forewarned: this, once again, is all about YOU.

Today’s goal is super, super simple.

Invite a friend to do the next round of 30 days of hustle.

The truth is that we need people. People need us. But we’re usually so scared or so proud or so a million other things that we don’t reach out to each other.

So I’ll be clear, you guys are awesome. Every day, a handful of people quit. They unsubscribe and give up on the 30 days of hustle. But you guys are on day 57! And I promise you that if you keep working, 2014 is going to be very different from 2013.

I want other people to have that same opportunity.

So all I want you to do today is share this link: http://acuff.me/2014/02/adventurers-wanted-2/

That’s the blog post about the new group. (You guys are already in the group and don’t need to sign up again.)

Please email it to friends, tweet it, facebook the heck out of it, etc.

Let’s get more people onboard with doing more with the lives they were given.

Signup closes Friday night.

I’ve made my spiel before, right about this time last month. So I don’t think I need to make it again. I’ll hit the biggest point that I recall: each of us has one life. This is not a dress rehearsal. If you’re not doing life exactly the way you think or believe you should, you really ought to sign up for Jon’s 30 Days of Hustle. It really is life-changing.

Not perfection-making… never that. But you’ll start making positive progress and steps towards whatever it is you want to accomplish. That’s a promise.

So do it! Do it now. Do it today.

Leave a Reply

