Home » Uncategorized » The Blizzard that Never Was – and its Aftermath on Cattle and Ranchers

The Blizzard that Never Was – and its Aftermath on Cattle and Ranchers

Please read this blog post and the accompanying links to local news articles. South Dakota has just been hit by a terrible October blizzard that may have caused the greatest hit to its agricultural economy in the state’s history. Many ranchers have lost just about everything. And of course their problems are worsened by the federal governmental shutdown, which not only means no current governmental assistance but also that the national news media is too tied up with news about the shutdown to be bothered with reporting about this terrible natural disaster. I ask you to spread this news far and wide, via Facebook, Twitter, and so on. If the national media won’t do their job, then we must. And we should also offer our support to people who desperately need it.

Thank you.

Dawn Wink: Dewdrops

The worst blizzard in recorded history of South Dakota just swept through the state. Tens of thousands of cattle are predicted dead and the much of the state is still without power. The Rapid City Journal reports, “Tens of thousands of cattle lie dead across South Dakota on Monday following a blizzard that could become one of the most costly in the history of the state’s agriculture industry.”

The only reason I know this is because my parent’s ranch, the setting for Meadowlark, lies in the storm’s epicenter. Mom texted me after the storm. “No electricity. Saving power on phone. It’s really, really bad….” She turned on her phone to call me later that day. “There are no words to describe the devastation and loss. Everywhere we look there are dead cattle. I’ve never seen so many dead cattle. Nobody can remember anything like this.” Author of several books and…

View original post 988 more words

2 thoughts on “The Blizzard that Never Was – and its Aftermath on Cattle and Ranchers

  1. For those ranchers who have placed their faith in a big God and wonder where He is now. Don’t lose heart because of your circumstances. We serve a God who is infinitely creative. Who owns the cattle on a thousand hills. Psalm 50:9-10 “But I do not need the bulls from your barns… for all the animals…are mine, and I own the cattle on a thousand hills.” The whole of psalm 50 is quite an encouragement. I believe God is judging this nation not you individually. Our whole nation will feel the loss of your cattle deeply. But the LORD knows his own. “Make thankfulness your sacrifice to God, …then call on me when you are in trouble, and I will rescue you, and you will give me glory.” And he will pay you back double for your losses. Isaiah 61:7-9 “Instead of shame and dishonor, you will enjoy a double share of honor. You will possess a double portion of prosperity in your land and everlasting joy will be yours. ‘For I, the LORD, love justice…I will faithfully reward my people for their suffering…Everyone will realize that they are a people the LORD has blessed.'” When you read about Job he was also given back double what was taken. Job 42:10 I don’t think these are isolated situations or that only men like Job deserve this. I believe this is the way God is. To those of His own who experience devastating loss he rewards them double. I have seen it in my own life in a different way. When I was younger I experienced incredible loneliness and rejection and the LORD promised me he would give me double in friendships and later he did just that. I had so many friends I didn’t know how to keep track of all of them. This may seem insignificant compared to your loss but I truly believe the LORD is who He says He is. What you are experiencing right now is a grave injustice, but hold fast for the LORD will lift you up and reward you greatly for all you have lost.

Leave a Reply

