Home » Uncategorized » The Locket

The Locket

Before I begin, I just want to say thank you to our fire fighters, police, and paramedics, as well as a prayer for those who lost loved ones 12 years ago today. You are heroes, and I am so sorry for what you suffered on that day. Know that we’ll never forget. 

 

Now then, on to lighter topics. 

My elder, Kiersten, who turned the big 1-3 yesterday, has wanted a larger locket for a while. She had had a cute tiny locket for a couple of years, but she was sad that she couldn’t really put a photo inside of it. (Why do they even make lockets that small, anyway??)

So one of the things she requested for her birthday was a nice big locket, one she could actually fit a photo inside. I bought the biggest locket I could afford (which was pretty big despite being only $5), and she loved it.

Today she begged me to print out a photo of Elena, her little sister, so she could put it into her new locket. She said she didn’t care what picture I used, “as long as it’s cute.”

Not a difficult task. (Although I did want to find one where she was smiling!)

I chose this photo, from last summer’s Vacation Bible School.

Image

I had it on my Facebook page, so my first thought was that I would simply print that page and cut out her cute little face.

I did.

Her cute little face was still too big for Kiersten’s HUGE locket.

Okay, so printing right from Facebook wasn’t going to work. I would have to use Windows’ photo printer. I found the folder where I had scanned the photo into, opened it, and selected “Print.” For the size, I chose 3.5 x 5. That seemed quite a bit smaller than the size of the photo on my Facebook page, so I thought, surely that will be small enough.

It wasn’t. Elena’s cute little face was monstrous compared to Kiersten’s locket. I was starting to think that locket was shrinking.

Wallet size. Surely, surely, wallet-sized would be small enough. I mean, come on. Wallet-sized photos were teensy. And look at that photo. There’s lots of negative space compared to Elena’s cute little smiling face. There’s no way wallet size wouldn’t be small enough.

Print.

Cut.

Examine.

You guessed it. STILL too big. I swear Kiersten’s locket shrunk again.

Was there even a printing size smaller than wallet size? Believe it or not, there is. It’s called “Contact Sheet.” I don’t even know what in the world that means, but I selected it. Thirty-five contact sheet-sized photos can fit onto a normally sized sheet of paper. If this wasn’t small enough, Kiersten’s locket surely had shrunk into nothing.

After that photo had printed, I examined the paper. I knew full well it would fit now. But the size was ridiculous. The photo was now the size of the “Large Icon” option when you’re looking at photos from the folder on your computer. It was basically a thumbnail.

Not only could I now fit Elena’s cute little face into Kiersten’s locket, I could fit her entire torso as well. Kiersten was thrilled, so mission accomplished.

But it got me wondering: how on earth did people fit photos into lockets before you could store photos onto your computer and print them to the precise size you need? My mother once had a locket with my dad’s photo in it. It was the coolest thing I had ever seen. The locket was pretty large, so I guess it wasn’t too hard for a photo to fit, but still.

Were all lockets large when we didn’t all have computers with printers? I kind of doubt this. I remember wanting a locket of my own when I was younger (though this had less to do with my mom’s locket and more to do with Little Orphan Annie, who was my personal heroine as a child), and I do remember I received one for either Christmas or my birthday. But it was pretty small. I think I had vague ideas of cutting someone’s face from a photo and putting it in my locket, but I don’t think there’s any way one would have fit.

This of course begs the question once more: why do jewelry makers even make tiny lockets? What good are they? I can’t imagine the novelty of their tiny hinges and doors and clasps would last very long. I’m pretty sure I got tired of my own tiny locket fairly quickly (unless I was pretending to be Little Orphan Annie).

What kind of jewelry do you find particularly useless?

What kinds of “fool’s errand”s have you gone through to satisfy one of your children’s desires? (Mom, please don’t answer this. I remember all too clearly the times as a child I begged you to go from store to store to find some toy I was desperate for…)

What do you do these days that people surely did decades ago, but you wonder how they managed without technology?

Leave a Reply

