Home » Uncategorized » Why Don’t I Blog? An Introduction

Why Don’t I Blog? An Introduction

Short answer: actually, I do blog. In three different places, to be exact.

Okay, so my knitting blog is extremely sporadic. And my tennis blog, I kind of wish it would just disappear because it’s quite pathetic. I think I’ve made 5 posts total. The only reason I hang onto it is because I placed my “Guide to Tennis Scoring” in it, which I think could be really useful to people who don’t quite understand tennis scoring.

The only blog I do a reasonable job of keeping updated is my music blog, which these days is really just a “recapping my concerts” blog. And that’s fine, I enjoy having one place to put all my concert recaps. I had grand plans with my music blog when I first started it, and then I realized that I just didn’t have the time or energy to do what I had originally hoped to do with it – make it an indie musician promotional blog.

One thing I didn’t really have, though, was a “life” blog. Okay, I kind of did for a while. I had a LiveJournal account. I still have it, actually, but the only times I ever use it these days are to comment on one of my friend’s knitting blogs.

From time to time, I have wished I had a blog where I could write about things other than knitting, tennis, or concerts. Those are three big passions of my life, to be sure, but there are so many other things that are important to me. Things like my faith. Things like my messy parenting. Things like my attempts to juggle freelancing with homemaking. Things like my desires to save money and feed my family foods that will nourish them.

In other words, LIFE.

I have been particularly galvanized by some of the blogs I read regularly. One is Jon Acuff’s. You may have heard of Jon Acuff, or you may not have. I first heard of him when my husband and I went through Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University. Somehow I stumbled upon Jon’s Twitter account and his two blogs, Stuff Christians Like and Jon Acuff’s Musings. (I’m not completely sure I have that second name right, but close enough.)

I began reading Jon’s blogs and thought, oh WOW. I felt like I had found a kindred spirit. Someone with a great sense of humor and an incredibly strong faith. Someone with the humility to understand and express that he didn’t have all the answers. Someone who made me laugh, but also made me think.

I don’t know that I ever thought “I want a blog like his,” but the admiration was intense.

Another blog that I really admire is the Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking. I love this blog because it is filled with wonderful ideas and the heart of a bright young woman who loves God, loves her family, and has a zeal for warmth and beauty and ingenuity, but not for perfection. As someone who fights her own inner perfectionism, I can really appreciate this.

I’m not sure yet what I want to do with this blog. My biggest fear is that it will peter out like so many of the other blogs I’ve started. I’m afraid it might do that if I don’t have a clear vision for it. So I suppose I had better get that worked out. “Life” is kind of general, isn’t it?

But then again, part of the reason I want to start this blog is because I haven’t had a place to put my “life” musings. In the recent past, anytime I wanted to say Something Significant, I have either placed it in a Twitlonger on Twitter or in a “Note” on Facebook. Neither of these are perfect solutions. Notes on Facebook can be seen only by other Facebook users, and in the case of my account, only by those I’m Facebook friends with. Twitlongers on Twitter can be seen by more people, but there is no way to access a Twitlonger archive. Or if there is, I haven’t figured it out yet. Besides, Twitter moves so rapidly that if I post a link, only a small fraction of my followers will see it unless I post it again.

So it looks like the primary reason I want to start this blog is because I want a more permanent and more open place to deposit my musings. Yes, it will probably be random. Yes, it will probably be very silly one moment and very serious another. At least, I hope so. Because if it were silly all the time, it would seem rather meaningless. And if it were serious all the time, I feel like no one would want to read it, because who wants to think deep thoughts that often?

Hopefully I will at least approach a happy medium, if not achieve it.

So there you have it. An introduction to Why Don’t I Blog, which seems as good of a name for a blog as any. Feel free to join me for the ride at any time.

2 thoughts on “Why Don’t I Blog? An Introduction

  1. I think the hardest thing about starting a blog is coming up with ideas to keep writing on it. It is nice to have a space you can come to write about whatever you want. 🙂

    • Thanks, darlin’! Every time I thought about starting a new blog, I would also think, “UGH, I don’t WANT to start ANOTHER new blog,” lol. But really, who says you can have too many blogs? 😉

Leave a Reply

